Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Where To Start . . . . . .

Hi all . . . . Well it'snearly over and I am attempting to get back into work mode . . . So far it's not really gone of plan!!! I'm trying to get my head around the new eyfs & to determine what implications this will have on planning, routines etc - my only ( well I say only!!) problem is that I am moving to a new school in sept and as such do not have a thorough understanding of what is currently in place & as such do not really know where to start .....As such I am feeling very under prepared for the start of the new term . . . Which in turn is making me feel anxious and completely out of my depth ( even though I have been teaching for 17 years & have been in the role of eyfs leader for a number of those!!!).

Any words of wisdom would be gratefully received today .... I really don't want to start the term on a low :((((

Hi there Fluffy,

I know how you must be feeling, I was feeling very overwhelmed by it all a few days ago. If it were me I would just do what I normally do each year before my new class start- some getting to know you activities, observations for baseline, maybe a few arts/crafts activities and then see where the children take you!

You say you have been teaching for 17 years, so you are clearly a very experienced teacher! I wouldn't worry too much about being in a new school and not knowing what they currently do, they have hired you for a reason- most probably your very clear knowledge on EYFS, so maybe they are wanting you to go in there and shake it up a bit?