Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Help!

Hi everyone, I apologise in advance for the large post but as you may be able to tell I am in a bit of a 'flap' :rolleyes:

I am currently a Reception teacher who has been asked to support a teacher who has been put into nursery recently with NO early years experience and is seemingly beginning to sink. I am currently only in my second year of teaching, so I am still learning the ropes and deciding what works and doesn't work myself. However next week I am expected to work with the head to change the planning and general day to day goings on of the nursery as I have recently done in Reception.

To give you some background this is how the nursery currently runs;

*there are 45 children in the morning and 45 of the afternoon.

*Currently the practitioners plans a focused activity each day which all children MUST complete (a tick list is used to ensure this) :mellow:

I have recently been and observed in the nursery and would like to change the whole of the planning structure. My difficulties are that we are a very formal school in comparison to other settings with a head who expects VERY high standards in numeracy and literacy in particular!! We have worked around this in Reception to create an environment which balances both child led and adult led activity. Nursery however is not my strong point therefore with the standards that need to be achieved in Reception at the back of my mind I have formulated the following plan to discuss with my head next week;

*free up ALL adults to facilitate and enhance activities that have both been set up as part of continuous provision and initiated by the children.

*During term 2, loosely group children either by ability or personality – 3 groups per family - to complete adult led, fun and engaging number activities.

*Literacy (mark making in particular) will be enhanced by the facilitator throughout the day.