Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Need A Moan

Hello there. I had the most dreadful time with my mentor yesterday and I really you some advice as to what I should do.

Let me explain. I am an unqualified teacher working in reception. I have full class responsibility. I am doing the GTP training next year. My mentor is also my phase leader. She will spend some time next year team teaching with me which Im not keen on but have no choice. I have accepted this as part of my training.

yesterday we looked at my audit of taining needs and she is unhappy that I have indicated 'good' or better in nearly all areas. Thats how I feel. I have worked really hard all year and although i need to learn lots more, i feel have a done a very good job and my mentor should accept this.

She is saying amongst other things that I cant self evaluate beacuse I think Im good at everything. She has also cricticised me because i argue with her. Well I believe in standing my ground. She said I cant criticise baecuse Im new to the profession, and should have a bit more repsect for her and my other colleague's experience. I feel this is so unfair. I find it so difficult as she only works part time and has been of sick a lot of the past year, what right has she to have a go. I aleady have to produce everything on the computer which is extra work, because she has reading difficulties. I feel that she thinks I'm useless and I just need to prove to everyone that Im as good as I think I am.

I have spoken to the Head and my year group partner, and they have both said I should trust her judgment as she does know what she is talking about. Well I do, I know she is very experienced and very skilled but

I just worry that the year will be a disater if we get off on the wrong foot. I dont want to spend the summer worrying about it either.

sorry for the long winded maon, what should I do?

Hello Aquarius,