Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Spitting

hi im new to this so here goes...We have a child who is nearly four and due to go to school in sep. He displays a lot of low level disruption: swearing, lashing out, saying no at every opportunity...however the thing we want to tackle at the moment is his spitting. He does it pretty much constantly , at staff if they ask him to do something or not to do something, at children if they displease him. We have tried ignoring it and that didnt work and the other children started copying so now we remove him quickly and calmly from the situation as we do with his swearing and explain that behaviour is unacceptable here. But that doesnt work ans he just goes straight back and starts again. He is very bright and sometimes it seems as if he is looking at you thinking what are you going to do about it? The other children and staff are starting to complain about being spat on all the time and mum does her utmost to avoid discussing it :( We try to follow his interests and praise him to the hills at every opportunity. Our advisor is hoping to come and obs but any ideas in the meantime please? it is wearing us down :(

Hard as it is, I'd go back to ignoring him, inasmuch as I wouldn't actually say anything to him about it, but I would continue to remove him from the situation. He is obviously enjoying the attention, especially if the other children make a fuss about it. When he spits, I would take him away to get a cloth/wet wipe/antibac wipe and get him to clear up any 'mess' he has made, again without a fuss. Just explain that as he made the mess, he needs to clear it up. ( if it is on other children, he still needs to clean it up, but you will need to ensure that it has been done properly). Maybe once he relaises that the 'fun' ( for him!) and the fuss ( for the other children) has gone out of the situation, he will stop.