Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Elg's, Nns & Nls

Does anyone use the NLS and NNS in conjunction with ELG's to plan and if so HOW do you do it? I'm really struggling to write everything I need to in my planning.

As a FS teacher, I tend to work from the ELGs. The only time I use NNS is when I use the 'Mathematical Activities for the Foundation Stage' resource pack, but even then I refer to ELGs in my planning (perhaps I should be cross-referencing? :o )

Surely they are designed to be used independently of one another. That said, I think we probably instinctively use aspects of NNS and NLS in our teaching, e.g. by referring to the 'front cover' when reading a story etc.

Our nursery and reception classes use the FS curriculum guidance as a basis and in our planning identify the learning opportunities/objectives based on the stepping stones and aspects.

We then use all the other DfES publications for support and ideas. e.g. PIPs, Developing Early Writing, NLS medium term planning, Mathematical Activities for the FS, the Learning & Teaching ICT resource pack and the FS toolkit.

Our nursery and reception classes use the FS curriculum guidance as a basis and in our planning identify the learning opportunities/objectives based on the stepping stones and aspects.

We then use all the other DfES publications for support and ideas. e.g. PIPs, Developing Early Writing, NLS medium term planning, Mathematical Activities for the FS, the Learning & Teaching ICT resource pack and the FS toolkit.

34860[/snapback]

Hi Angela,

FS Toolkit? - is this something new i have never heard of or seen it - may be because our EY co-ordinator is off on long term sick but i am intriguied!