Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Interview For A Reception Teaching Job

Hello all,

I have been trying to make the leap from year one into reception. This is proving very difficult as I have no direct experience of it (and never will have any if someone doesn't give me a chance!) At last though I have secured an interview. The problem is that although I feel I have a lot of knowledge about the EYFS I fear there are probably huge gaps which will show up at interview. What sort of questions would you expect to be asked for a reception teaching job? Are there any pressing issues I should be aware of that they may want me to talk about?

Any help would be much appreciated as I desperately want a reception job!

Hi Kariana,

The topics that spring immediately to mind are:

* Settling in: how would you help a child to settle, how would you use your TA to support this, how would you go about building and maintaining relationships with parents?

* How would observation, assessment and planning work for you? What differences would you experience from Y1 ?

* What is your view on child-initiated/adult-led activities?

*What curriculum strengths do you have that would benefit your work in the early years? Communication perhaps? Or creative?

* Positive behaviour management: how would you develop this with reception children, some of whom will be only just 4 years of age?

I'm sure others will be along with some more ideas soon :o

Thanks Helen! That's very helpful.

I hope there are some more ideas out there too. I've always had very generic questions to answer when I've been for year one interviews (ie. they ask the same set of questions of everyone and the focus tends to be the same) I'd really appreciate more ideas about reception questions!

Hi Kariana, well done on getting the interview.

Great ideas from Helen, any or all of those could come up.