Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Gtp Reading

Hi everyone,

Well I start the GTP in September and have been given lots of reading to do. I have also found books in the library about being a successful trainee teacher. I need to read children's books, study for my skills tests, prepare folders. Feeling overwhelmed already!! all that as well as getting to grips with a new curriculum, assesment, standards, stratergies...aragh!

I'm very confident in the foundation stage as I have been a nursery nurse for many years but will be moving to year one for my teaching practice. Any advice from all of you who have been through the GTP or similar training? What reading should I prioritise? It's going to be a struggle getting it all read before September what do you think is most important? Do I work on my own knowledge first? Do I study what I need to be delivering as a Teacher? Which trainee teacher books are most helpful? would you recomend any?

Would be really grateful for any advice you can offer

Thanks

Hi Jo jo,

I did the GTP in 2009/10, just finished my NQT year. I was also a nursery nurse prior to GTP (a pre-school manager before that).

For the first part of your placement, you should only be teaching 25% of the time, the other 75% will be observing the class teacher and other teachers, spending time getting to know the children and supporting class teacher. You will probably work alongside the class teacher, so will not be re-writing the planning. When I was in year 1, I taught the lessons using the teacher's planning already in place.

When my tutor/mentor observed (once per week), I would usually create my own activity. For this I read up on the Primary National Curriculum handbook (for learning intentions and outcomes) and the Primary Framework for Literacy and Maths. Many of the activities I planned were cross-curricular and creative.....a bit like Reception but with some more structure.