Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Behaviour Nightmares

I'm having a bit of a nightmare at the moment with my Reception class and would welcome anyone's advice!!!

I teach 25 reception children in a classroom which is shared by another reception class of 20 pupils. This situation would be easier if the teacher that I share with was willing to team teach, but unfortunately this does not seem to work. We don't have our own outdoor area, but use the playground, with very limited storage facilities, so it is impossible to set up this area and leave it set up.

The children that I teach are quite a challenging group who are boy heavy, with 1 autistic child, and several who have serious issues with their behaviour. Behaviour has been an issue throughout the year, and we have used lots of different strategies to work on this, but lately I feel as though I am tearing my hair out, and beginning to wonder why on earth I ever wanted to teach. I have nine years experience, and 4 years with reception, (which is my favourite age group) but would welcome advice.

A lot of the small world play and small construction play leads to destructive and aggressive play, even with lots of input and support from myself and teaching assistant. I have a group of children who can be quite violent when they don't get their own way - hitting, kicking, biting, and some who show very little respect for authority and who will push the boundaries for speaking to adults and bad language to the very extreme.

I feel a bit like I have moaned and moaned and moaned, all I know is that underneath all the show and bravado I have a group of lovely children, and would welcome any of your advice in how to deal with them

thank you