Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Questions To Ask In An Interview

Hi,

I hope you are all weel and I am also hoping (maybe cheekily) that all you lovely people will be able to help me and give me some good ideas.

I am a reception teacher and I am expecting my first child, due in September. My school had advertised for my maternity cover, which will start in September and the head has shortlisted 5 candidates for the selection process. I have not been involved up to now in any of the process apart from meeting potential candidates when they have looked round the school, although I have expressed a desire to be involved, especially as I will be returning back after a year to my job and working with a job share, potentially with the person appointed and am the only teacher in school who has an Early Years background.

I have been asked by the head to observe each candidates 10 minute activity (not sure what they have been asked to do as yet) and to draft 4 or 5 Early years specific questions for them to ask in interview and to bullet point the best points for a good/appropriate answer as I am the only member of staff in school who has a concrete and up-to date understanding of the Early years curriculum and Early Years practice. I would really appreciate any ideas from you lovely people as to the sort of questions you feel should be asked at interview as I have never had to do such a task and am only in my 3rd year of teaching and not sure if my ideas/thoughts are right.

Many thanks and hope this makes sense - feeling quite shattered this week!

Bxx

Guest lou73

Hi

I went for a reception post recently and was asked

What would you expect to see in a reception class? I thought this was a good question as it could have numerous answers and gives an insight into a persons ideas about how a early years class should operate i.e. children engaged in freely chosen activities