Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Tricky Words

Hi

This is my first year back in reception in a long,long time.

While my children are picking up their phonics well, we are not doing so well with the tricky words.

So was wondering if anyone has any good ideas they would share for teaching and practising the tricky words either in whole class phonics session or as part of the children's independent activities.

Thank-you

Flash cards still work well! Interactive games. Bingo etc etc.

It can take time but a daily exposure to a small number works well--look at the phonic phases to determine which ones to choose and search online for resources!

I agree with Susan, I use tricky word flashcards at the start of every phonics session. There are only a small number of tricky words per phase so this really doesn't take more than a minute (and we're on phase 5) and it really improves the children's knowledge of the words. There's nothing wrong with a little old fashioned rote learning in moderation! I would introduce two new tricky words every week. I tend to start teaching spellings for that phase's tricky words as soon as the majority of the children in the group can read the majority of them.

My children's favourite game is where they sit in a circle and have to come up one by one to write the tricky word on the whiteboard. We time how long it takes the whole phonics group to do this and then see if we can beat our time with the next tricky word. I have 12 in my group and we play this maybe once a week with the two new 'tricky words of the week'. They also write our two tricky words of the week on individual whiteboards everyday after the tricky word flashcards. It's made more difference to my children's reading and spelling of these words than any other method I've tried.