Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

City Topic In Nursery

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Forum and am looking for a bit of help please.

Soon in Nursery we will be looking at Cities as part of a larger 'Our World' Topic. We are going to be looking at London for a week and I have a total mental block as to what to cover! Could anyone help and inspire me? I am fairly new to Nursery so am still finding my feet!

Thank you in advance! :o

Sorry, no ideas for activities (my brain's turned off for the night) but thought I'd share a nice idea for a display that I saw somewhere. As your background back the board with a colour that will do for the sky (blue/ grey/ black depending on the feel you want) and then cut different sized rectangles from newspaper to look like different sized buildings and make a city skyline out of them, then put the children's work on top of that. It might sound odd but looks really effective. From a distance the text looks like bricks :)

Hello Purplebumblebee, and welcome to the forum :o

I suppose I'd start by asking "Why have you decided to "do" this topic?" Are you in London? Are your children likely to visit London, ie is it going to be a "hands-on" topic, or learning about it as you might a faraway country?

Thank you for your replies. I love the display idea and will definately try that out!