Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Behaviour

Please someone help, Ive been teaching for ten years and love my job with a Reception class but is it just me or are kids coming in with less and less respect. I have a boy that says no to me consistently every time i ask him to do something. I have been very firm with him and send him to time out every time he is refusing me, but it is driving me insane. I am thinking about doing a behaviour reward for him but part of me thinks no, he needs to learn first to do as he is told. Rant over!!

Please someone help, Ive been teaching for ten years and love my job with a Reception class but is it just me or are kids coming in with less and less respect. I have a boy that says no to me consistently every time i ask him to do something. I have been very firm with him and send him to time out every time he is refusing me, but it is driving me insane. I am thinking about doing a behaviour reward for him but part of me thinks no, he needs to learn first to do as he is told. Rant over!!

Don't want to advise BUT I know where you are coming from I have a 4year old doing the same to us (we are a pre-school) I am working with parents the best I can but like you say its driving me insane too. Today however my face hurts as I was determined to not let him get to me, my face hurt as I have smiled and secrety laughed to get myself through the 4 hour session.

His last comment was I hate you, and i am going to fold my arms for ever and never come back here again! All i was asking him to do was get his coat as mummy was coming to pick him up, mummy supported me but on a serious note my staff and I are getting concerned as I think he will soon begin to take this temper out on others. I know we monitor these things but everyday I am writing an account of the day just to cover ourselves.