Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Literacy & Numeracy?

Hi, I am new to EYFS having moved down to FS2 in November from KS2.

I am struggling with the need to teach literacy and maths, but without the formality of the 'lesson' that would be taught further up school.

With the concept of 'child led' planning, do people still 'block' literacy into Units, and if so what units do you do?- I can't find a link on the Primary Strategy website anywhere.

Any ideas would be much appreciated!

Also, in my class I do individual sound books for each child, a personalised word box of HF words, and reading books.

Does anyone else do similar, and if so how do you manage it?

It seems most of my afternoons are taken up with sounds, word boxes and changing reading books, instead of observing, playing and interacting with my children.

Any advice is welcome!

I don't block my literacy into the units from the strategy but that's not saying you shouldn't. I tend to identify the core next steps of the class and plan activities to teach these skills that can be met through a theme or interest. I ensure I do a balance of narrative, non-fictions, poetry etc over the year though. I only do 1 formal literacy based carpet session - either shared reading and/or a writing a week. Then I do phonics daily, 1 adult led CLL activity (usually guided writing) and 1 guided reading a week. I get my children to change their reading books twice a week (they do it themselves from a box of 'choice books' after they have completed their guided reading or writing activity so doesn't take any time. They take home a 'proper' levelled reading book once a week which is usually the book they have read during their guided reading session.

I do sound and word books too, children hand them in on a friday and I check them on a one-to-one basis with them on friday morning as I have a parent helper in that day so have an extra pair of hands.

It works for me! Hope that is useful. x

Hiya