Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Book Ideas For Talk For Writing

Hi all I am a reception teacher soon to be introducing talk for writing into my class (after xmas) I will be doing the traditional stories as suggested by Pi in his book namely little red hen, gingerbread man, enormous turnip and Blly goat's gruff for the spring term and will make my topic for the term 'once upon a time'. In the summer term I want to move away from the traditional stories and find books to suit the topics I usually do which are space, under the sea and super heros but am struggling to think of good stories which have a strong repetitive structure which can be altered by the children. I would be very interested to hear of any stories anyone has used other than the usual traditional tales or any book suggestions for the topics I had planned to do.

Thanks in anticipation!

Oxford Reading Tree have published Tlak for writing materials based on well known stories. they are very expensive but it could be worth looking at their website to see the stories they have chosen for Reception.

You can however make your own story based on a text and use that for talk for writing.

Evening,

I have just be observed by my head doing a 'talk for writing' session, and I did 'Whatever Next' as the book as our topic is Space. It worked fantastically well and we had a lot of positive feedback. We started last week with the story map and practised it over the week. Then this week we added in three connecting words - and then, next and firstly with actions and we placed them onto the story map. Next week we are ready to add in some adjectives. Would definitely recommend it!