Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

A Listening Ear Please

Ok, I manage a nursery for part of a chain. I've been managing nurseries for 12 years and have been in my current one for 3.5 years. Love my job, love the staff, love the children, all in all very happy.............or I was.

Recently had a change of line manager (someone completely new to the chain), she doesnt believe in having Administrators, she'd rather have the Manager and Deputy running the office etc. Recetnly my Administrator left, Deputy was brought out of the room to be super nummary and to work in office with me.

Since then, my job role has completely changed. I have, in effect become the Adminsitrator. I deal with the management software system (payments on, sessions on, holidays, invoices etc), I deal with suppliers invoices, and every day to day Managerial tasks. My Deputy is learning quickly but there is so much to learn its taking time.

I am beginning to hate a job I once loved; I find I'm not leading and managing, I sit in front of the PC all day everyday and I very rarely leave when I am meant to, often doing long hours and I have been in on the weekend to catch up! Its not that I can't do the job or am slow, it's because I'm trying to manage, lead and administrate all at the same time; please don't think I'm moaning or trying to shirk responsibility, this is my 3rd manager's position and I have always had an Administrator; but yes I am struggling. If I tell my line manager she says "well you're the manager you should be able to do it"

I am looking for another job, but what reason can I give for moving on? I fear I will become depressed; I wake in the night worrying about work, I hate getting up to go into work, I have a constant headache when I'm there and I get irritable with the girls when they disturb me to ask me something!