Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Interview Help!

Hi

I am new to the thread and would like some of your helpful advice please.

Have got an interview where I need to carry out a 20 minute cross curriculur activity based on a creative stimulus such as an object, an image, a piece of music to a group of about 4 Reception children.

Have considered using some large sparkly eggs to generate a speech and language activity with lots of talk, exploration, discussion about what the eggs could be, could have come from etc. But this desnt involve many other areas of learning and I would struggle to make it last for 20 minutes! Any ideas to extend this or any other suggestions?

Thankyou!

Guest LornaW

What about going outside? yoou will meet all curriculum areas there and your stimulus could be a leaf or a conker, teasel, rose hip the list could go on. You could find all sorts of things, see all sorts of things and hear lots of wonerful things. collect these in a basket and bring them back to discuss!

Lorna

What about going outside? yoou will meet all curriculum areas there and your stimulus could be a leaf or a conker, teasel, rose hip the list could go on. You could find all sorts of things, see all sorts of things and hear lots of wonerful things. collect these in a basket and bring them back to discuss!

Lorna

I like this.The children have control over the stimulus and so therefore gain a sense of ownership of their learning. I have some large ears that the children could wear to listen and could make some glasses that children could wear to look for objects and maybe provide them with clip boards to mark down what they have found or heard. I have some mark making tool belts where children can keep pens and pencils, along with magnifying glasses that they could wear. We could collect objects in a basket and bring them indoors to discuss if we have time, reflecting on what we found and sounds we heard.