Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Advice Needed Please Xx

hi all,

i am a reception teacher and have a little boy in my class who has come to us working at 22months. he has a one-to-one support. i was wondering if anyone had been in this situation before and how you dealt with it. at the moment he can only cope with 2 hours a day. when he comes in he sits for register and that's all he can cope with. obviously i then need to teach the other children and the one-to0one works with him. do i plan a literacy and numeracy activity daily and then let him play? i have done listening groups with him but he can only focus for 5 mins and is constantly distracted or tries to distract others during this . any advice would be appreciated thanks x

He must be seen to be learning. Obviously at this age all his learning will be through play but he could be exploring the wealth of resources that you have in your classroom at his own level with support to move him on appropriately and to minimise the disruption to the other children.

I think his support person will probably have to take some responsibility for his learning and planning with you overseeing what is going on or it is going to be very difficult for you. Is this possible?

Good Luck.

I had a child like this in my class when I was training. What I did in the end was during the intro on Monday his 1:1 would take him down to the on site nursery to choose resources linked to our area(s) of work that week, but at a more appropriate level. So if we read 'The Train Ride' and wrote journey poems, he set up a brio track just outside the classroom and spent some time talking about the sounds the train might make, where it was going, that sort of thing. I don't know if it was the right thing to do or not, but it seemed daft that he was sitting through a story or some other daily intro and not really understanding an awful lot of it.

HTH!