Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Summer Panic...advice And Tips Please!

Hi everyone,

Im new here and have been reading through some of your posts. Basically I have been a year 2 teacher for 3 years and am now moving to reception xD I am really excited and looking forward to it but am having a few mid summer hol panics and worries and would really appreciate help/advice/tips from you all!

Firstly - our focus for the first few weeks is routines and settling in. I know lots will be play and modelling how to use different resources and activities. Could anyone offer me any ideas on small group activities I could do. Was thinking self portraits and things to descorate the class and discussing what the children like doing. Any other ideas??? I feel really stuck at the minute.

Secondly - I know I need to observe and assess in the first few weeks, whilst getting to know the children. Any tips on a record keeping/assessment routine or system? I just feel any ideas would help me to develop my own!

Thanks... hopefully will help me feel more confident.

xx :o

hi, are you by yourself or do you have other staff? If more than just you, divide up so you each have your own key children and together come up with an observation format that works in your setting. For a short observation we have a chart for each child on which we quickly write down what we heard/witnessed and tick which areas it covers. I know other places use post it notes for this. Then over the next three weeks we do longer (about 10mins) observations on the children playing then we annotate this and write up next steps from this and the collected short observations.

One of our first activities I'd do is get the children to come up with their own class rules and then turn this into a display with photographs of the children acting out the rules. I always rewrite them so they are positive eg help your friends to tidy up rather than do not leave the toys on the floor.