Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Reading Scheme

As the title suggests really. We are using a scheme which i dont think works very well to compliment development in phonics-building and segmenting.

Its fine for my high fliers but for those who need more support blending and segmenting there just isn't enough range within the realms of phase 2 letters and sounds.

Can I ask what the progression should be through reading books, or what progression there is through the range of books you use. Im still new to this and although im sure its not good i cant go shouting that without some info!! lol!

i can't think what the scheme is at the mo. i know the books have things like beginning to read, progression in phonics on the back.

Also, it might just be that i dont understand it, in which case i need help!! (or maybe thats another story!)

lucie x

Lucie, without knowing which scheme you are talking about its probably not east to help you!

You should have some sort of teacher's handbook in school to help you use the scheme successfully ie understand its rationale or you may find more info on the publishers website. However, it maybe that actually you need to be supplementing it with additional phonic material. Or it might be that as you think, it does not suit your cohort.

Find out more and get back to us!

OK,so its cambridge reading. at present the books are split into the different sections that it gives on the back of each book. BUT have been on the website and on there the books are banded instead.

They just seem to get very difficult very quickly, with only a few books available to consolidate blending of simple words. any advice? i think you're right susan and i will have to supplement, but this scheme runs through the year groups and are the only scheme in school at the mo.