Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Free Flow

I work in a school that has two reception classes. We are very successful in that the children acheive high scores on the foundation stage profiles due in part to coming from middle class, professional backgrounds and having strong parental support.

I am concerned that our lessons are too formal, more suitable to year 1 lessons than foundation stage. When we have in school observations it is expected that the children will be given set tasks relevant to the learning objective and to be clearly able to discuss what they are learning and talk about the success criteria. Heavy going! We do 'do' child initiated but as a separate discrete session.

I would like to ask other reception teachers how they organise their lessons. How can we develop a more free flow and what does that look like? If I am working with a focus group am I able to give some of the other children more scope to explore and discover independently? How would this fit in with the learning objective and the children being able to talk about next steps? What does an outstanding lesson look like in a Reception class?

Any advice?

Am sure there are a lot more people on here who can offer you better support than me but didn't want you to think you were being ignored! Sometimes it's challenging the thinking of the people around you to make free flow more acceptable; one suggestion I once heard was to remove all tables from your setting for a day, it really makes you look at your environment with fresh eyes and think how you can set it up as free flow, you do later bring tables back but if your setting doesn't look like a formal classroom it helps to stop it feeling like one. For your set objectives you can have a challenge card in each area eg mathematical challenge in water etc so the children are completing the tasks when they choose to be in that area. Hope this makes sense and gives you a bit of food for thought.

x