Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ideas For Numeracy (subtraction ) Reception Class

:o Hi everyone .

I am a teacher trainee and I was wondering are there any great books with ideas/resources to teach foundation stage kids math. I am doing my lesson on subtraction and I am going to use a song ten green bottles but with green froggs instead now (animals topic) . I am wondering if there any other fun interactive activities I can do?

And how do you teach the class with various abilities, my mentor asks TA to take out a group of AA or BA kids out and works with the rest. I want to try and keep all kids in a class but differentiate the activity by asking different type of qs .

I need your experience to help me, please. xD

Have you looked at the numbers and patterns document thats just comeout, it has a few nice ideas! x

we sand 5 little frogs sitting on a well, and the children had made a well out of big constrcution bricks so they had frog masks on and jumpe down the well when it was their turn x

Where to start with great books! First port of call for me would be scholastic and then this lot here probably- think the FSF should make a book of

" Loads of ideas and tricks they didn't teach you at college"... with the sequel " Loads more things they didn't teach you at college" and the third in the series "Loads of things you wish they'd taught you at college"..

Hi from one trainee teacher to another!

Kent ngfl do the froggy song- no music but they croak! We also did the 10 green bottles- next door class lent us masks. Do lots of modelling with fingers, using a number line, showing use of - and = inbetween the children who model the sum physically.

I asked TA to work with LA outside hopping along foam number mats etc or in class using hungry animals to gobble leaves/biscuits etc and try to record on colurful paper with colourful pens. HA use bigger numbers. MA use lower numbers with me to scaffold using own whiteboards and pens to show our number sentences.