Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sports Day Ideas

Hi,

I am new to my role (FS Co-ord) and have been speaking to the KS1 phase leader as to how to combine our sports day. I really would like to invite the parents and have mummy races/daddy races etc. Has anyone done this successfully?

Also what types of activities have people tried for sports day and have you been successful?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

We've had two very different kinds of sports day for FS/KS1. The first a traditional sports day - each class split into teams - races - sprint for each class (different lengths for different classes), obstacle race - varied to suit age/ability of children, egg and spoon race, sac race and/or skipping race for Y2, might have a relay race. During these sports days we have invited mums/dads to join in their own race with a bottle of wine for the winner - we usually end up with up to 10 mums and dads taking part (have to say I would never have entered myself!)

The other type of sports day has been a fun sports afternoon where children from FS/KS1 mix into teams. They then complete a carousel of sports activities with the team being awarded points for each activity. (will post some of the activities we've done, if you're interested) Personally I prefer this type of sports day as children are active all the time, the older children have some sort of responsibility helping/taking care of the younger children and children get a chance to try out a variety of physical skills rather than just rewarding the children who are good at running - although I have to say that parents moan that it's not a 'proper' sports day.

The first type of sports day is infinitely easier to organise - just harder to mind children who get bored just sitting around waiting for their one minute of glory (or not as the case may be). Sorry if it's obvious where my preferance lies :o

Good luck with whatever you decide to do.