Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Evidence For Moderation Of Profiles

I am a Nursery teacher working in an LEA where reception children are admitted to school the term in which they turn 5. This means that I have reception aged children in my Nursery Class who will be moving into Reception after Easter (the summer-borns).

Our Reception teachers have heard that they are to be visited by a moderator after Easter and they will be looking at evidence of children working at 3 ability levels in CLL and C.

At a recent cluster group moderating meeting, we were told that we need evidence for each point marked in these 2 areas of the curriculum for the chosen children.

We have collected certain evidence in the form of post-its, annotated photos, observations, some children's work, and also in evaluations of group work in phonics and number.

However, my question is how do we present all this evidence? We had started putting relevant post-its into the profile booklet itself in the relevant section, but there just isn't room for those as well as photos. The evidence is in so many different forms that it would be difficult to "present" it to the moderator. Especially as the children will not even be in my class any more, and I will not be present to discuss the evidence, the moderator only wants to see the Reception teachers, who have their own focus children as well (autumn and spring birthdays).

Do you leave the actual profile booklet blank inside, apart from circling achieved goals, or do you put photos/notes within the small spaces provided? How do you present other evidence such as observation sheets, class record sheets, children's work. Do you put reference points within the profile booklet? What do you "do" with all your post-it's?

I am just struggling to find a way of "handing over" all this information to the Reception teachers. I would be interested to hear what other people do.

Thanks, Jackie

Hi Jackie,