Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Incubating Chicken Eggs

Hi

We have just started incubating some chicken eggs. When I say we I mean one of our grandparents will look after them in an incubator and hand them over to us about a week before they hatch - phew!

Providing we actually have some eggs that develop we will follow our instructions to the letter when they are handed over.

I've never done this before, do you have any tips, especially with regard to hygiene within the environment and hand washing with children. Once they hatch they will be within a cage and I need to think of a way to cordon them off to supervise contact and hand washing. We will only keep them for a week as I understand they can get a little whiffy!

Once hatched they will need to be fed and watered twice a day and cleaned out daily. Only I put my hands inside the box, to ensure no problems with germs.

Our children were fantastic at handling them. I only allowed supervised contact, and gave them the chicks only when seated on the floor, then I put them back in cage and supervised the handwashing.

Just a quick couple of tips

1. Hearing the chicks cheeping from within the eggs just a day or so before hatching ws MAGICAL!! But environment needs to be quiet so you can hear.

Also the eggs "twitch andd wriggle" just prior to hatching, and this is great for the kids to observe, but they need to look quite closely.

2. All our chicks hatched when the nursery was shut. I don't know if they were aware of the sound levels, and chose to hatch when it was quiet, or if just a coincidence, but that was my experience.

3. We found that towards the end of the week after hatching, the chicks were a bit flappy and fast for handling by the children.

Have a fantastic time with your chicks...it will be a wonderful experience for all. I can't wait until next spring when we do it all again!!!!

Guest tinkerbell