Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Early Morning Activity For Rec

Hi all,

I am a Reception teacher and each morning before assembly and the register there is approximately 5 minutes where the children sit on the carpet waiting for the other children to put their things away and join them.

What activites could the children do in this time?

I need something that will keep the children occupied but that does not take much setting up or need any equipment. I have and IWB and was thinking of maybe some kind of challenge??

Thank you for any ideas and suggestions,

ABC

xx

There must be lots of lovely games that you could play to encourage hand eye coordination. Or could you do some name writing, letter formation activities either on the IWB or individual whiteboards?

There are lots of games, but they find it hard to take it in turns on the whitebaord and would not be able to decide who comes next. Might do some individual whiteboards.

There are lots of games, but they find it hard to take it in turns on the whitebaord and would not be able to decide who comes next. Might do some individual whiteboards.

Would you not be there supervising to ensure they took proper turns and pick who goes next yourself? If this is something they need to keep them occupied whilst you are busy with other children then then establishing a good pattern of behaviour for 'turn taking' shouldn't be too difficult. If you select the child to go first then establish that that child must choose who comes next they might respond to this very well. Setting up established selection rules such as 'girls must pick boys and visa versa' and 'only people who are sitting nicely/quietly etc can be picked' will stop the children from picking on their particular friends all the time. I use this technique a lot and find that the child doing the selecting does take it very seriously and makes sure they pick someone appropriate because they like having that little bit of power and responsibilty.