Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Space Topic/ Non Fiction Literacy

Hello all,

This is my first post and would be very grateful of any replies. I am at a bit of a stand still with ideas. I am a reception teacher and decided yesterday to change my topic for January to space. Topic planning is going well but I need some fresh ideas for planning the literacy unit. At my school we concentrate on different areas of literacy for a half term and come January we are focusing on non-ficition. The first week will be taken up with recounts for Christmas day but would like to try and link literacy with our topic of space but at the moment not quite sure how.

Any ideas would be greatly welcomed :o

Thank you in advance and merry Christmas to all

Write a list of things to take into space? Instructions to work the space ship?

Collect and label a display of interesting things found on the moon e.g'moonrock' 'space dust' etc.

Write signs to put up in a role play area space ship; on/off. fast/ slow, stop, etc.

Draw aliens and write descriptions of them? Make aliens out of junk then take photos of them and write descriptions and put all the photos in a book to display for visitors at the space museum?

Wishing I was doing space now....

We did non-fiction when doing space, the children had to write labels for a astronaut, really got the boys inspired!

Maybe children could make a space book, some could write a caption for a space picture? Sparklebox have a space ship roleplay pack, which has log books for the children to fill in when playing in it, the boys especially loved it!

Ooh another thing we did, although it tied with bonfore night but could work anyway, was writing words to describe rockets, like whizz, bang, zoom etc.