Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What To Write For Next Steps In Writing

Hi,

We've been asked to mark children's work with next steps for writing and refer to the EYFS. However the profile points are too wide and the steps needed too great to be "next steps".

Would anyone have a prompt list of smaller achievable steps that i could use when marking please.

They need to be "Iwill try to..... " statements.

Everything I've read so far seems to be about what the adult will do in terms of provision eg. provide ops. for mark-making in role-play etc

Sorry if I'm being dim but I'm new to all this copming from KS2 and didn't expect to be doing formal recorded writing until later in the year unless they were ready, now i've got to do some "writing " in the literacy book every week and include next steps--- MY BRAIN IS PORRIDGE!

THANK YOU IN ANTICIPATION OF YOU WONDERFUL IDEAS! XXX

Guest muckygravy
Hi,

We've been asked to mark children's work with next steps for writing and refer to the EYFS. However the profile points are too wide and the steps needed too great to be "next steps".

Would anyone have a prompt list of smaller achievable steps that i could use when marking please.

They need to be "Iwill try to..... " statements.

Everything I've read so far seems to be about what the adult will do in terms of provision eg. provide ops. for mark-making in role-play etc

Sorry if I'm being dim but I'm new to all this copming from KS2 and didn't expect to be doing formal recorded writing until later in the year unless they were ready, now i've got to do some "writing " in the literacy book every week and include next steps--- MY BRAIN IS PORRIDGE!

THANK YOU IN ANTICIPATION OF YOU WONDERFUL IDEAS! XXX

I don't think that children this early in the year are ready for next steps or should be made to write weekly in a literacy book. If you were to write next steps you will have to read them out to each child as they presumably won't be able to read them.