Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Set Format For Recording Assessment

Hi all,

I am new to Reception and am finding it hard to establish a format I am happy with of recording my assessments (Especially one that is manageable). Does anyone have any examples of successful ways to record. I already do tick sheets with aach of the areas on and with all 9 scales, but it does not seem to tell me much.

Does anyone use individual recording sheets for each child and if so, do you tick it each time yo see it? is this manageable?

Please help!!

All ideas are greatly received :o

Thanks Everyone x

I have sticky labels on clipboards which i write down observations which i use for assessments, both during adult led tasks and child initiated learning. Any children not meeting learning objective are recorded on my plans and I plan their next steps accordingly. All sticky labels are stuck in their individual learning stories, which are referenced to the profile scale points and I have a sheet with all the profile scale points in the back of their learning stories which I tick and once i have 3 pieces of evidence i highlight it as met.

It is really effective but time consuming! I then write their next steps next to the observations (not all of them but those that it is appropriate). I am doing PLODs (individual learning plans) which pick up the next steps which we use to target children in their child initiated learning.

Is that helpful? Hope it made sense.

KST x

Thanks KST,

Sorry to sound so silly, but what are individual learning stories and PLODs?

I know that is probably a really silly question.

Welcome to the forum ABC.

there is an excellent article in this months EYE magazine about observation and if you can get a copy I would recommend it highly to you. Another series on observations have been published in Nursery world and again you would find these useful.