Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Literacy Planning!

Hi!

I am a year one teacher in a two form entry school, so plan with another teacher. Our focus for this year is to improve writing standards, and we are being observed this week by the Head.

I'm not sure if we are planning correctly for the children's writing.

The children are currently doing a poetry unit and are writing a new poem every day.

I always thought that writing should come as a sequence - reading, reading for writing, speaking and listening for writing and then writing. Should the children be doing this, or are we doing it correctly?

Any advice welcome please and thank you!!

Becksyboo

:D

I would say that writing a poem everyday is very ambitious especially at this stage of year 1. Thinking back to when I did literacy planning I would say it is important for children to experience lots of different poems - I used to do this in guided reading and the children would choose one that they wanted to practise reading to a friend. I then would ask them to consider why they liked it. I think when writing poetry it is good to have a poetry frame otherwise it is incredibly difficult. I hope this is slightly helpful.

In addition to this I'm pretty sure that at this time of year the goal for the poetry unit is to "contribute to a class poem". I recently completely this unit and we did loads of sensory stuff, coming up with describing words, etc., then we built up to activities to write class poems.