Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Performance Management Observation

Hello all

I have moved from Y5 to the school Nursery class this year - previously no experience in foundation stage - and the Headteacher is due to observe me in 2 weeks time for performance management. I was wondering if anybody could give me some pointers as to what good/ outstanding teaching looks like with a nursery class. (note: the observation will be based on CLL, during 15/20 minutes of carpet time with 20 children in a unit comprising Reception and day care classes also).

Thanks

Cloudy

hi Cloudy

I am a nursery teacher and have had a few PM but this year criteria has changed (to New Ofsted )and its much more difficult to get outstanding I think.

We are due our PM too and have been told that there needs to be evidence of links to School development plan,links to prior learning ,evidence of where each child is ie;Development matter bands,Do chn know what they are learning and how many move on in their learning during the session .

CLLD could really be about listening skills and circle time at this time of the year .Look on the letters and sounds DVD there are some good ideas for sound bag activities and encouraging listening skills outdoors.

Also tied in with that are routines.How do you get all the chn on the carpet,have you a strategy for getting their attention.Is there a mix of all types of learning (visual,kinesthetic etc )Don't forget to show that you are continually assessing by praise,stickers or questioning ,and have some fun with it :o

20 seems a lot for a circle time activity Have you support/

Keep carpet session short and activities set in nursery could be making different shakers,musical bumps,sound game on computer etc

Don't know if this has been helpful but good luck.