Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Boys! Boys! Boys!

I'm a nursery teacher in a primary school. In September my two classes will consist of 17boys, 9girls in the morning session and 16boys, 10girls in the afternoon session. Never had a ratio this bad before, pre-visit showed most chn to be very boisterous! I would be eternally grateful for any tips, advice, alcohol that can be offered!!!

thanks

I have gone down the route of dinosaurs as my introductory topic, and aiming to spend a lot of time outside, contructing and the like. I am in reception and have 11 boys and 4 girls, a big change from last year which was 10 of each! Will also be looking to see what help, advise etc is given.

I have gone down the route of dinosaurs as my introductory topic, and aiming to spend a lot of time outside, contructing and the like. I am in reception and have 11 boys and 4 girls, a big change from last year which was 10 of each! Will also be looking to see what help, advise etc is given.

LOTS of outdoor activities!

Last year we had 20 boys and 4 girls... it was a hard year but we found that gruesome activities held their attention well, like having a real fish and looking inside it.... messy play on a large scale was also a success, we made a large tardis that they then used in the home corner, we made a large pirate ship which we also used in the homecorner, we papered the floor, gave them pens, pencils, junk modelling and the cars and they made their own town, drew roads, made the buildings, basically anything that holds their attention... also as a previous post suggested.. plenty of outside activities... good luck...

Lots of active learning

Personally I prefer a boy heavy class to a girl dominated one much less fuss