Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Transition Activities

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if anyone had any exciting ideas for activities for new year r's. I am running 2 play sessions next week for the new children. they come for one play session which lasts for an hour. I need to produce some displays from the activities they do so there is work on the walls when they start in September. I am also expecting the big O very shortly afer we get back!!

Any exciting ideas????

XXX

i am asking mine to paint a pic of themselves and tell me about their favourite things so i can create a display with that. altho i am nqt so am going with what has been done in the past.

any other ideas for a full day would also be greatly appreciated, as i have never done transition before.

xx

Ive never found it very successful trying to get the children focused enough, on transition visits, to produce anything that I can use in a meaningful way. You dont know them, they dont know you and its all very difficult. Remember your youngest children may still be 3!

Perhaps a large scale collaborative "something" would be possible?

Good luck!

For your display how about photographing the day instead of producing something-what they did, who came, which family members came. I usually find anything they do on transition visits they REALLY want to take home as proof they have been. We usually send a letter a few days before term starts with a colouring picture which the child brings with them first day which is mounted. It's a long time from transition to admitting so the letter just reminds the child that we are expecting them, who we are and how excited we are about them coming!!

I am endeavouring to get the chidlren to draw a picture of themselevs, and take a photo of them to put up as a welcome to our class display - haven't tried this before - and do realsie my pictures may be 'interesting' but thought it worth a go.

Hi - I've got transition visits next week too! xD