Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New Security Door System

Hi,

I'm a Nursery manager in a private setting. we were visited by a lady on Thurday who discussed a thumb scanner to allow parents to enter the building, which we have decided to have. Anyway at the moment we use a door bell system were the staff answer the door and they sign the children in and out, when we have our new system i dont think that would work so it might be an option to ask parents to sign their children in and out.

Does anyone else have a thumb system or a policy and parents signing in and out? does this cause lots of problems??

Thank you for reading any help would be appreciated?

:oxD:(:(

Hi,

I provide casual cover in a nursery with a thumb print entry system.

The parents sign all the children in and out with times just inside the door but the staff also write down which children were present in the room for each session as well.

This system works well.

I think it helps that they know it is for fire safety as much as anything else.

We looked into the thumb scanning but decided against it because we were worried about parents letting themselves in and other unauthorised people following them in

Yes, this was a concern at first for us but the door to the baby room is literally next to the front door so those staff keep an eye on who is going in and out.

It is not a large nursery so that work fine for us.

Not sure about in a larger setting or somewhere that the door is less visible.

I can see were you are coming from!!

We were told that you can put time limits on who enters, for example our morning session is 7:30-1:00 therefore we could put ibnto the computer they can have access from 7:3=1:00 so if they come after the session ends they carnt get into the building. I can understand that you carnt see who the parents are letting in, but we sometimes have that problem with a door bell system. parents have let other parents in when they have left the building.