Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Literacy Planning For Reception

Hi, I've been browsing here for a while but feel the need to post today as I'm reaching panic stations; I'm a 2nd year BA student on a Primary Ed course and I have a week left of my assessed placement in a reception class. I need my whole week to go out with a bang as I'm so desperate to get all 1s in my final grading.

The reason for my panic is I need to teach a literacy session tomorrow that I can assess the children's learning from and build upon in in Tuesday's lesson. The current topic is Space and I have within arm's reach 'Aliens love underpants' and 'how to catch a star' to use. The class teacher has given me free range on what to cover objective wise but I was thinking towards CVC (or CVCC/CCVC for the higher ability) or rhyming words but I cannot think of anything!! The class has three distinct ability groups so the tasks need to be easily differentiable. I tend to have half of the class choosing while the other half are split into 3 groups completing an adult led activity, halfway through the session the children swap over so everyone gets a turn choosing and working.

The only ideas I have so far are to take a group outside on a letter/word hunt where I will have placed CVC words on the walls (jumbled up) and the children have to rearrange the letters to make the word and also to place letters into the sand and/or water and see if they can form words that way.

Basically I have free range of what I can teach and I am stuck!! Most children are just getting to grips with some CVC words, most can identify and say most single letter sounds.

Any help/guidance/advice you can give is wonderfully appreciated; quick responses would be amazingly appreciated as this needs to be planned for ASAP!