Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Parent's Evening

Hello everyone,

I would like some ideas on how you prepare for Parent's evenings? I have done them before but im interested in how other people plan for this. Im a Nursery teacher in a Prep school. Next Monday I have to talk non stop to parents for 3 hours!

The joys of working in a school!

Hannah :o

Sorry, Hannah, stopped by then skimmed off, having lots to do - but feeling guilty and came back!

In a prep school I think it's a bit different - they kind of 'expect more'? I would say, make sure you can back up everything you want to say with evidence (know you do, but...) have some wow things out/displayed eg slideshow of activities etc on interactive whiteboard, ideas for parent/home follow ups and activities... Most of what we do anyway, really, but be prepared for 'extra' grilling, as they pay!

Sue

Guest tinkerbell

I am a reception /yr1 teacher with parents evening next Monday 3.30-6.30 and Tuesday 5.00-7.00

I will be sharing the learning journals with the parents and last time (October) had an A4 sheet with jottings about the childs interest/abitity in each of the 6 areas of learning...I actually updated the e-profile last half term and hit the wrong print button and have a couple of sheets on each child with the point scores and little statements saying what each one is....I may use those to talk to the parents.

Hope all goes well for you

Tinkerbellx

I've just realised that you probably mean talking to parents one at a time for 3 hours...DUH! My brain is not in gear at all this week, sorry! :o

Our parents evenings are fab!