Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Graduate Status

Hi, I just wanted to get other peoples views on what you thought about practitioners gaining the graduate status and whether you thought this would improve the way that the foundation stage is delivered in settings in the long term....

It might make a difference to some settings!

I am doing the degree course so that come 2015 our private part of the nursery either doesn't shut down or get taken over by someone with a degree.

I have 25 years plus experience which appears to count for little so I will need that bit of paper.

A degree doesn't make someone a better practitioner......

However I am only on my second term but already I feel I am thinking more about the things I do and why I do them in my practice and I think I will take this knowledge into work with me and they will benefit!

My Head has great confidence in his early years staff.

In May the newly opened part of the provision (open for 9 months) got outstanding for nursery education and outstandings and goods for the rest........... now he wants to know how will a degree raise these standards???!!!!!!!!!!!

I expect the arguements could rage over this one......... and I can see both sides to the arguement!

I think that everyone benefits from education so yes it must make a difference, but I also agree that heart and soul is a must have for this job, if your heart isn't in it a piece of paper won't magically bring good practice.