Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sen Nursery Class

Hi

I am teaching a mixed nursery/reception SEN/regular class! I currently have 3 SEN 3 year olds and 2 regular 4 year olds. I need help. This is my first year teaching in Special needs and I have previously taught in reception, so to have 3 3 year olds who are definetly working below their age is proving very tough. I am really struggling knowing what to plan for carpet times and group/independent activities bearing in mind that most of carpet times are spent bringing them back and asking them to do something I want just gets ignored or ends in a tantrum! I try and play with them and what they are interested in but when they do not talk this is harder than it seems. I especially wonder about planning from their interests (which I am used to doing in reception) as they do not give me anything to go on.

I hope this makes sense! Some ideas would be gratefully recieved.

Thank you

Hi

I am teaching a mixed nursery/reception SEN/regular class! I currently have 3 SEN 3 year olds and 2 regular 4 year olds. I need help. This is my first year teaching in Special needs and I have previously taught in reception, so to have 3 3 year olds who are definetly working below their age is proving very tough. I am really struggling knowing what to plan for carpet times and group/independent activities bearing in mind that most of carpet times are spent bringing them back and asking them to do something I want just gets ignored or ends in a tantrum! I try and play with them and what they are interested in but when they do not talk this is harder than it seems. I especially wonder about planning from their interests (which I am used to doing in reception) as they do not give me anything to go on.

I hope this makes sense! Some ideas would be gratefully recieved.

Thank you