Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Fsu To Nursery And Rec/y1

Hi to all! xD

Need some advice and pointing in right direction.

5 years ago we used to teach Rec with Y1 (Y2 sometimes), then we changed to a Foundation Stage Class with Rec / Nursery, very successfully, noticed the positive change in Reception children across all areas.

We've had funding cut :( which means we have to return to Nursery (am only) and Rec / Y1.

I dont want to teach reception children in the same way I did 5 yrs ago (VERY structured) but need some guidance on the mixing of the Y1 children. :o

Personal exp. / websites etc - GLADLY accepted!!! :(

:o I have been teaching Reception/Year1 as a mixed group for around 6 years. I think the best piece of advice I can give you is to see them as one large class with lots of different abilities rather than two seperate year groups with different curriculums to cover. Rather than waffle on about my class are there specific questions you have? or particular areas you'd like to discuss. My class do not have a formal fixed timetable, there is lots of play for everyone and having been involved in a project on 'Transition' we also ditched formal playtimes opting for free flow in and out. xD

Hi,