Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Job Interview At Pmld School

Hello all,

I have read some of the previous posts and thought you may be able to give me some advice.

I have an interview for a job at a special school, I need to teach a 15 min lesson on sensory/story/song/music to 3 pupils with profound multiple learning difficulties. All I know about

them is that they will be working at P1-P3, I do not know their age. I wondered whether anyone has any ideas?

I have had some experience volunteering a long time ago, however not with teaching, but currently work in the FS in a mainstream school - this is a job I really really want so please please help!

Thought some sort of sensory story would be good?

Many thanks

Thank you!

I was thinking of using the story I'm going on a bear hunt, and having tactile props like a pot of long grass, bowl of squidgy mud, water and props like a cuddly bear etc and then use the props to support the story, also having some instruments to help make the sounds like a drum or container for them to either pat with their hands or use their feet to make foot step sounds, sand paper to rub together for the grass and a rain stick for the snow storm.

What do you all think? I want to keep it simple but very sensory and tactile!

Thank you!

The interview is on wednesday. Trying to sort the lesson plan out - not sure whether I'm missing anything out or expecting too much!

I think it sounds like a lovely lesson! My class have done the Bear Hunt this year (not me doing it as it was on my PPA time) but they did similar.