Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Fluidity From Eyfs To Ks1

Hi all,

Help! I am a EYFS teacher, newly promoted to EYFS manager and I need some ideas.

I think myself and the Year one teacher have made great waves when it comes to transistions from our 2 classes and have attended a few courses. We both undertake child initiated planning and the children have real ownership of learning. We aim to make things as smooth as possible for the children.

I have made sure that we do not do P Levels in our class and assessment is observation based and we constantly talk about the children to each other.....but...

How do other schools record assessmnet and track progress from the EYFS to KS1? Our only problem seems to be the paperwork? We have made our own version that looks at their scores at the end of the EYFS and predicted what they should be getting but does anyone have a system already in place? I know that it should not be just about the scores, levels and paperwork (preaching to the converted!) but its a necessity really.

What do other schools do?

At my school, Year 1 targets are set after they have started Year 1, rather than using the end of FSP results - not sure if that is what you meant though!

Welcome to the forum!

Thanks for the kind welcomes!

We still have targets at the end of year one to carry over to year 2 but because we are a small school we are being told that we have to show progress from year R and there seems to be no set procedure.

I feel they are completely different curriculums but there are obvious overlaps between EYFS maths and literacy and KSI how do we as a school show what a child at the end of the EYFS should be getting at KS1 Sats??? (personal views aside as I think we shouldnt!!)

Again thank u for making me feel welcome!

Clare.

Hi all,

Help! I am a EYFS teacher, newly promoted to EYFS manager and I need some ideas.