Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Games

I am a student and I have just realised that I was supposed to make a gsame to play with the children!!!!!! We heve had a bad year, with teachers leaving and coursework etc, Any ideas of a game sutible for children in the foundation stage(end of reception year!) which isn't going to cost a fourtune to buy the materials to make? i AM STUCK FOR IDEAS AND HAVE JUST SPENT AGES SCOURING THE CITY center for magnets, I was going to make fishing game, I want to do something ehich involes number recognition

You've probably thought of this but what about number bingo... so easy to make and very cheap. Make a 3x3 grid (or your own choosing) on a piece of bright A4 card then write numbers in each box (ot do it on a PC in word) either 0-10 or 11-20. Obvioulsy you will need to ensure that they are not all the same! Make the flashcards to go with it, laminate if possible and hey presto.

My kids love it as they can be the 'Teacher' . We've made loads of bingo cards on this theme, solid and flat shapes, tens numbers etc. We've even made phonic and keyword ones and they never seem to tire of it.

When one of them wins they stand up and shout 'Top Banana!'

p.s you can differentiate by putting sticky spots on each number for the lower ability if they don't know the number name or write the number names on the cards for the higher ability.

Hope this helps :)

How about putting a number of little things in different-sized boxes (little dinosaurs, insects, etc) and getting the children to guess how many are inside. Each child picks up a numeral to match the number they have guessed, then, when everyone has made a guess, have the count! A member of my staff played a trick on the children by putting boxes inside boxes to add to the confusion, and the children loved it!