Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Research Question Please Help!

Hi, My name is Shona and I am studying for a BA Hounours degree in Early Childhood Studies. My current assignment is about the foundation stage. The question being:

"The foundation stage provides a flexible curriculum that takes into account the developmental needs of young children aged 3-5" Critically examine this statement and back up your conclusions through knowledge of the foundation stage and needs of young children.

Do any of you have any opinions or experiences that could help me?

Thanks! Shona

Hi Shona,

Id be happy to answer any questions.You will need the Foundation Stage Guidance file for initial info.Perhaps you could bring in examples of how teachers work,use differentiation etc-see reception the best way forward on this site.

Thanks for your help Johnboy. Basically this is the question for a seen exam on Tuesday. Our lecturer has been ill and we haven't exactly been given the best teaching on this subject. So I'm trying to find out as much as I can through my own research!

What do you think about the amount of time that children have to play within the foundation stage?

Thanks, Shona

Hi Shona

Do you have the pink folder Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage? If you don't it's "The Bible" for all early years workers obtainable by accessing the QCA web site. If you do page 25 is all about play.