Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Lesson Objectives

I am a student who is currently on a school placement in a reception class. The teacher keeps saying that I need to know what it is the children are doing/learning. I feel that my objectives are specific enough and I have been using the curriculum guidance for the foundation stage folder.

Im not sure how long to spend on a particular area, do i continue with something until the children meet the objective or do i revisit again at a later date? :o

is the teacher asking you to consider if your objectives are being met or if the children are getting something quite different from the activity.

I find that sometimes you have a specific objective for an activity but when the children access it they use it in a completely different way.

Sometimes the FS folder document has statement that can be quite wooley- and can cover a multitude of things. I found as a student it was easier to state what the objective for the session was in plain terms - for example for a topic on families-

The learning objective might be

Children will Learn:

What is meant by a family

About the different people who make up a family.

That there are different types of families and each family is special. Inc animal families etc etc

Then you could have specific activities to engage the chidlren and fulfill the learning objectives.

These could cover the stepping stones and ELGs in PSE and K and U that are suitable.

Does this make sense?

Hope this was of some use. :o

It will all come together suddenly in time. I look back at my own teaching practice and now understand some of the thins that went on- and the assessment process etc. (it's 3 years since I did my PGCE) and everyday you learn something new :D

Thanks, I think you may be right in that i've been using the fs document and my objectives have been too broad as a result. This is were I am going wrong! :o

glad to be of help.