Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

7 Weeks Pregnant With First Baby

Hi Rachel,

Congratulations that's excellent news. I had my first child in July 05 - the same month that I graduated from my BA. I didn't find out I was pregnant till 15 weeks so I guess I couldn't have had any symptoms or problems to get that far without knowing. At about 20 weeks pregnant I started my teaching practice - this didn't finish till 34 weeks.

My main problem was tiredness. Was in a very pressurised situation - trying to finsh my degree (still had lots of essays etc) and on my final block school experience being observed weekly, file checked, etc. I don't think I even realised till pretty far into my placement how tired I was. Before having my baby I was a pretty last minute person - use to leave essays etc till the last minute. Becuase I was concentrating on my school placement I had left a 2000 word essay pretty much till the last week. Managed to get it all written but left typing up till the night before. Usually staying up all night to finsh work would not have been a problem for me however as hard as I tried I just couldn't manage to stay up. There were a few times when I got in from school and went straight to bed and didn't get up till the next morning.

I think if it had been now when I have my own class and a couple of years teaching under my belt I would have been a million times easier - however I did have a very simple and straightforward pregnancy apparently - here''s hoping yours is the same. xD

My best advice would be to ensure you are really organised - try to get all the work you need to get done at the weekend or whenever suits you because as you get further on you just won't have the energy to be doing it at nights after a full day in the classroom.

Rachel