Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Chicken Casserole In A Slow Cooker

Hi all

I have boought a slow cooker today and would like to make a chicken casserole in it tommorrow. I have no clue what do to, as i have never used a slow cooker before please help

Simple, bung in all your raw ingredients and switch it on!!! Your instructions should tell you what temperature to put it on. Mine only has high or low.

I like to do steak and kidney in mine - Fab to then make into a pie.

Also very good for cooking a joint of beef or a ham.

Make lasagne in mine also. Pre-cook mince and then layer up as you would normally.

oooh, now you've got me going, I shall have to get mine out of the cupboard again!. :o

slow cookers are fab - my mum bought me one for xmas last year to use on a thursday for family when i was doing my FD

fav recipe bung in chicken fillets a can of cider salt pepper mushrooms leeks cook for 6 - 8 hours on slow then before serving add corriander and cream stir and serve ...yummy .... :o

Nothing beats using a slow cooker, I don't have one at the moment but I used to always use it on a Saturday, go out and play hockey, then when I came home (usually wet, cold and tired) i'd open the door and be greated by a wonderful smell. You can't beat them. My mom cooks joints in hers, I can vouch that they taste wonderful.

Enjoy your cassorole Lola.

Sal

I used Delia Smith's recipe - it might be on her website - which made 2 large puddings. I used a 1 litre pudding basincovered securely with buttered foil. The basin goes in the slow cooker & then you add boiling water to come about half way up, & cook on high for 12 hours. I was worried it might dry out but it didn't. By the second one I was confident enough to leave it on overnight & it was fine.

To reheat on the Big Day, do the same & cook on low about 6 hours, or high about 4 hours. My large one doesn't have a temperature variation, which is why I ended up with 2, but that's another story!