Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning Sheet For Mixed Year 1 /rec Class

Can anyone help please? Would anyone be kind enough to share a planning format for a mixed year 1 and reception class (both short-term and longterm).I need to have an idea of the kind of headings I might need as I have not taught a mixed age group before. I presume that the sheet will need to have a learning objectives column somewhere for both ages groups. Many thanks for reading this. Any ideas are most welcome!!

I have been teaching a mixed YR/Y1 class for 3 years now, and at the beginning trying to get the planning on a sheet was a nightmare. I have tried so many different ways and have continued to change them as none of them seemed to work for me. First I tried a Lit sheet, a Num sheet and an everything else sheet. They had the bog standard sort of headings - objectives, main teaching for YR and Y1, group activities, then i had to add a column for activities which were out linked to the teaching,but that the children accessed on their own. This just didnt work, i spent a year fiddling around with the sheets and still couldnt get them so they were any use to me and wasnt really sure why i was doing them. Anyway for a year I have now been using a day book - I just write the main teaching in it (usually quick carpet session as I mainly teach through groups, and only really do whole class if we're talking about a text and i don't want to read it 4 times) and what the groups I'm teaching are doing (I do a separate sheet for my TA). I find this has worked really well for me. I plan each night for the next day using my observations from that day to inform what i'm doing the next day. Hope that makes some sense.

I can show you planning for mixed yr 1/2 if that helps, otherwise go to www.hamilton-trust.org.uk it is a good site for mixed age planning but you do have to make a donation to join.

I hope this helps

Suzy

Important Information