Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How Does Your Timetable Work?

Guest heleng

Guest heleng

I am new to FS having taught in Year 1 for the past 6 years. I am still working on my timetable and need some help please!!! I have changed it several times already.

We have restrictions as the Reception class is part of the main school and we have assembly times and playtimes etc to fit in. We also share the space with the nursery class that runs 9-11.30am then 12.45-3.15pm.

The teacher who I have taken over from now teaches in the Nursery class. There are also difficulties as we have three term intake due to having a nursery class on site, so we get a new intake every term.

At the moment we have daily whole class maths input, literacy input, phonics session, whole class topic input and story time. We have a directed Welly Wednesday session focusing on K&U exploring the school grounds and immediate local area.

Should everything else be covered through continuious provision? Or do you have timetabled sessions for teaching other subjects? For example do you have a weekly music session/ RE session etc? When the children have had their literacy input do they have CIP for the rest of that session or do they have choices from a restricted number of literacy based choices?

Any sample timetables or ideas for how people manage everything would be much appreciated.

Helen

After alot of rejigging I have found it easier to work on this basis:

Mon - + Tues literacy days

Tues + Weds - maths days

Fri - catch up