Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Parents Meeting In September To Discuss Curriculum, Routines, Reading

Hi,

I am currently in my second year of teaching and have changed schools. At my new school I have been told that all the teachers have a parents evening where we discuss routines, curriculum and reading. I will be teaching reception. Last year I taught Reception/ Y1 and found the hardest and most difficult part of teaching was dealing with parents. I just felt like parents thought I was young and I was so scared of confrontational parents. Last year the former reception teacher led the new parents evening and I was ok with that but the thought of this parents evening in September fills me with dread! I'm already panicking! I believe I am a good teacher but I struggle with confidence dealing with parents. Its scares me that I will do a presentation in front of 30 parents! and I worry they will think I am not capable or I might get my words wrong!

Anyway, I am just wondering if anyone else felt like me or did early on in their teaching career? what happens if I mess this evening up?? I know I am silly to worry about this now but its playing on my mind!

Rachel.

I work in an early years unit with teachers who have 18 years experience of teaching and dealing with parents,but come september when we have a parents evening and they get up to talk they are still nervous.

try to put information onto power point so you dont have to talk as much and also have very low backgound music as this helps to keep calm.

get other members of S.M.T to talk as well so its not all up to you.

good luck and dont worry .

enjoy the holidays.