Jump to content

Photo

Deleting relatives


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 Rebecca_H

Rebecca_H

    Member

  • Admin
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 24 April 2017 - 03:41 PM

It is possible to delete Relatives from Tapestry. Contained within this tutorial is guidance for -

1. Individually deleting relatives
2. Deleting relatives in bulk
3. The deletion process

 

1. How to delete an individual relative

To delete a relative, please go to the manage relatives section in the control panel, clicking on the cog next to the relative you wish to delete (1) in order to select the ‘delete’ option (2).

delete%20relatives%201.png

 

A pop-up will then appear requesting the confirmation of the deletion of the particular relative. Please click to confirm deleting the relative or close the pop if you change your mind.

confirm%20deletion.png

When you have confirmed the deletion, they will enter a state of ‘awaiting deletion’. This means they will be unable to log into Tapestry. You will have 90 days to restore the relative as active or inactive.

You may search for relatives awaiting deletion by changing the page filter for 'status' on the manage relatives page to ‘awaiting deletion’.

relative%20filter%20awaiting%20del.png

 

A page will then be displayed listing all your relatives who are awaiting deletion. Next to each relative there will be a countdown of how long you have remaining (as indicated by 1) to restore the relative . You will also be able to restore the relative by clicking on the cog next to the relative and selecting "Make Active" to restore their account as active (2) or “make inactive” to restore their account as inactive (3).

 

awaiting%20del%20restore%201.png

 

When choosing to restore as active, you will be directed to this page here where you can confirm the restoration to active. If you restore the relative to active, their account will be active and they will be able to log into Tapestry.

restore%20act.png

 

Whereas if choosing to restore the relative as inactive, you will be directed to this page here where you can confirm the restoration to inactive. If you restore the relative to inactive, their account will be inactive and they will be unable to log into Tapestry. They will only be able to login if you were to then activate their account.

restore%20inact%20-%20Copy.png

 

 

 

 

2. How to delete relatives in bulk

You may also delete relatives in bulk.
To do this, please tick the boxes of the relatives you wish to delete as in (1). You will then need to select delete from (2) to select the act of deletion.

bulk%20delete.png

 

 

You will then be directed to this page where you will need to confirm the deletion. As indicated by (1) you will have the option of selecting either ‘delete’ or ‘do nothing’, if you decide to not delete certain relatives. When you choose to ‘do nothing’ to certain relatives, you will still need to click (2) to confirm the deletion of the other relatives.

bulk%20del%20or%20do%20nothing.png

If you have selected to delete relatives who are already awaiting deletion – you will be informed that they are already awaiting deletion and will remain in that state.

When in 'awaiting deletion', these users will not be able to log into Tapestry. 

If you wish to restore multiple accounts, you may tick the boxes next to the relatives (1) and then you may choose to restore them as active or inactive (2).

bulk%20restore.png

This will take you to a page where you will be able to select individually whether to restore the relatives as active or to do nothing, that is to leave them in an awaiting deletion state (1). You will then need to confirm the restoration of the account to active as indicated by (2).

If the relatives are restored as active, they will be able to log into Tapestry. The relatives you do not restore will remain in 'awaiting deletion' and will not be able to log into Tapestry.
bulk%20restore%20act%20(1)%20-%20Copy.pn

 

If however you decide to restore the relatives as inactive, you will be directed to this page instead where you will be able to restore the relatives as inactive or to do nothing, that is to leave them in an awaiting deletion state (1). You will then need to confirm the restoration of the account to active as indicated by (2).

If the relatives are restored as inactive, they will not be able to log into Tapestry. These relatives will only be able to log into Tapestry if you then make them active. The relatives you do not restore will remain in 'awaiting deletion' and will also not be able to log into Tapestry.
bulk%20restore%20act%20(1)%20-%20Copy.pn

 

 

3. The deletion process

When relatives are first set for deletion, they enter the status of 'awaiting deletion'. When the countdown reaches 1 day remaining for deletion (they are still currently in ‘awaiting deletion’ status), their status will then appear as ‘Deletion will begin imminently’ as indicated by (1).  At this point, a manager may still restore the relative as active or inactive.

relative%20deletion%20imminent.png

After the 90 days of awaiting deletion, the relatives will enter into a status termed ‘being deleted’.

The relatives, when ‘being deleted’, cannot be restored by a manager on Tapestry and they will not feature in a list of relatives ‘being deleted’ in the manage relatives section of the control panel. 

The relatives need to remain in "being deleted" as long as there are items on Tapestry of which they are the author - these include observations, comments, likes. Once these are no longer present on Tapestry as a result of their deletion by setting staff, Tapestry will automatically delete the relative. As a result of this, the amount of time spent in 'being deleted' may vary.

Relatives who are in this state cannot be restored to any other status and will not be able to access Tapestry.
If you come across an observation authored by a relative who is ‘being deleted’, by clicking on their name, you will be taken to a page similar to this which will show you the relative's profile and their ‘being deleted’ status.

being%20deleted%20profile.png

Once nothing remains on Tapestry of which they are the author, Tapestry is then able to delete them permanently.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users