Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Holiday Play Schemes

Sorry wasn't sure where to put this, hope it's ok here.

Hi guys I wonder if any one could give me some advice/ point me in the right direction for info.

I've got an interview in 2 weeks time for a supervisor role for a holiday scheme.

This is a summary of the job:

The post holder is responsible for the planning and delivering opportunities for play and experiences, which should reflect the nature of the multi-cultural society in which we live. Will organise and supervise the Play workers on a day-to-day basis. The post holder is also responsible to ensuring a safe and stimulating environment in accordance with Trust Policies and Procedures and OFSTED Standards.

I've been told the interview will last for about an hour, which seems like a really long time and I havn't got a clue what they'll ask me :o

I'm currently a student on an early years degree, but before that I was the deputy manager of a nursery. I did all the planning etc. so i've got experience of all that but I dont know what the regs are for a holiday club.

We ran a holiday club at our nursery which was basicly a more laid back version of what we did during term time, but I didn't have to do any formal planning. Obviously I planned activities to do, usually lots of fun creative stuff but I didn't use planning sheets or evaluate it etc.

The job description mentions Ofsted, does anyone know what regulations a holiday scheme had to follow?

I feel I meet the personal specification pretty well with the exception of not having experience of older children only up to 8 and the club takes kids up to 14, but I think I can blag that part lol.

Does anyone work in a holiday scheme like this that could give me advice on the sorts of things they do/ what they might ask at this interview/ the ofsted regs etc.